Centre for BOLD Cities welcomes new executive board members

The Centre for BOLD Cities has welcomed three new board members: prof. dr. Sarah Giest (Leiden University), prof. dr. Bregje van Eekelen (Delft University of Technology) and dr. Jiska Engelbert (Erasmus University Rotterdam). Here, we introduce you to them.

Sarah GiestSarah Giest is Professor in Public Policy with a focus on Innovation and Sustainability at Leiden University. Within her position, she aims to facilitate and continue interdisciplinary collaborations inside and outside of the university to further research and teaching on topics at the intersection of innovation and (environmental & social) sustainability through a policy lens. Before joining the board, Sarah was already affiliated with our Centre and contributed to the Smart and SHARED Cities minor by teaching the third module on ‘Governing the Smart City’.

Bregje van EekelenBregje van Eekelen is Full Professor of Design, Culture and Society at the faculty of Industrial Design Engineering at Delft University of Technology. Her work is located at the intersection of art, design and technology. She combines methods from cultural anthropology and history to understand the connection between the present, the past and the future. Last summer, Bregje was installed as Leiden-Delft-Erasmus professor, the chair ‘Smart City Design – Design, Culture and Society’ is embedded in the Centre for BOLD Cities and established by the Erasmus School for Social and Behavorial Science.

JiskaJiska Engelbert is Associate Professor in the Department of Media and Communication and the Erasmus Research Centre for Media Communication and Culture (ERMeCC). Currently, Jiska is the team lead of the 'Public Issues and Imaginaries' team at the Erasmus School of Social and Behavioural Sciences. At the Centre for BOLD Cities, Jiska already served as our strategic director but now also will be part of the executive board.

With these three new members the Centre for BOLD Cities executive board now consists of the following people:

Prof. dr. Ing. Bram Klievink (Leiden University)
Prof. dr. Sarah Giest (Leiden University)

Prof. dr. Catholijn Jonker (Delft University of Technology)
Prof. dr. Bregje van Eekelen (Delft University of Technology)

Prof. dr. Liesbet van Zoonen, scientific director (Erasmus University)
Dr. Jiska Engelbert (Erasmus University)